General Synod


The Diocese of Durham is represented at the Church of England’s General Synod by five
‘Proctors in Convocation’ or members of the House of Clergy and four Members of the House of Laity.

In the 2021 General Synod elections the nomination period closed at noon on 3 September
2021 and the following are standing for election to the House of Clergy and House of Laity.
Where Election Addresses have been provided by a candidate there is a link to his/her address adjacent to his/her name.

Bill Braviner  (link to address) Ali Bianchi (link to address)
Bob Cooper (link to address) Angus Goudie (link to address)
Rich Grant (link to address) Jamie Harrison (link to address)
Mark Mawhinney (link to address) Ruth Hicks (link to address)
Mark Miller  (link to address) Paul Hobbs (link to address)
Chantal Noppen (link to address) Helen Jones (link to address)
Matt Tarling  (link to address) Louise Maxwell  (link to address)
Dave Tolhurst (link to address) Andrew Rogers  
    Helen Smith  (link to address)

The voting period will open on Friday 17 September 2021 and close on Friday 8 October 2021.

Those eligible to vote will receive information about how to vote. This information will be
sent to their e-mail address or postal address where an e-mail address is not available.