What is a Deanery?

A Deanery is a grouping of parishes within a particular area of a Diocese. Within the Diocese of Durham, there are 14 of them. Each Deanery is led by an ordained Area Dean and a Lay Chair. 

Clergy who hold the Bishop's Licence regularly meet together in a Deanery Chapter, which allows them to support and pray for each other. The Chapter encourages mutual support between the parishes, such as the sharing of resources and sometimes of ministry responsibilities and other mission tasks. They may occasionally have speakers from within and outside the Diocese to help and inform their discussions.

Each Deanery also has a larger formal meeting called a Deanery Synod, where clergy and lay people elected from each parish meet together. These consider topical issues, are responsible for creating deanery plans, pass motions to be considered by the Diocesan Synod, and hear from external speakers.

Deanery Synod is also a place where the ‘voice’ of parishes can be heard more widely, and a space for them to discuss and debate common issues, such as the diocesan priorities.

The Area Deans, Deanery Lay Chairs and Archdeacons are regularly in touch with each other so that everyone stays informed and supported in relation to priorities, policy, practice, issues and opportunities.

To view a list of the parishes within each of the Deaneries, along with the current details of the relevant Deanery officials, follow the links below.

Within the Auckland Archdeaconry:

Within the Durham Archdeaconry:

Within the Sunderland Archdeaconry:

Powered by Church Edit