The Diocese of Durham is the Church of England from the River Tyne in the North; to the River Tees in the South; the Durham Dales in the West; and to the Sea in the East.

The Diocese of Durham is centred in historic City and County Durham, the City of Sunderland, the Metropolitan Districts of Gateshead & South Tyneside and also the boroughs of Darlington, Hartlepool, and of Stockton-on-Tees, north of the River Tees. The Diocese covers a geographic area of 2,530 square kilometres and serves a population of nearly 1.5 million.

The mission of the Diocese of Durham is to bless our communities in Jesusā€™ name for the transformation of us all. This will be achieved by focusing our energies on three priorities: Children & Young People; Poverty and Church Growth.

These priorities are brought into focus using the actions described in our ‘Plan on a page’.

The mother church of the Diocese is Durham Cathedral which is a Unesco World Heritage site and is the Cathedra seat into which the Bishops of Durham are installed.

The Diocese is organised into 16 Deaneries grouped into three Archdeaconries (Sunderland, Durham & Auckland). The Diocese has 227 parishes, in 187 Benefices with 218 clergy providing mission and ministry in them.